What Brings Us Together…

poop 2

“I love that poop is what brought us together today”.

This was a hilariously profound thing to hear as I was loading my kids into the minivan. I was heading back home after a pick-up, turned wonderful visit, landed a graciously-loaned carpet steam vac in my trunk.

One of our children, who shall remain unnamed (hint: it was the potty-training Little Love), de–stroy–ed a patch of white carpet…with poop. And then stepped in it. Just to bring everyone up to speed here, there was a trail of toddler excrement mashed into my white, non-Scotchguarded carpet. Did I mention that we have WHITE CARPET?!?!

My hilariously profound friend had answered my facebook call for help and hooked me up with her heavy duty steam machine to tackle the floor. She’s an incredible woman who is living through a heavy unexpected loss with grace, faith, and refreshing honesty. During our visit, we laughed, teared up, and she told me about a divinely random group she had been a part of the day before.

Sitting with a group of women, she found herself in the company of a mother grieving the recent loss of a baby to SIDS, another woman mourning the loss of a loved one, a mother/grandmother whose son is in jail, unable to protest the baby’s mother’s being forced to give the baby up for adoption. There was pain. There was brutal honesty. And there was redemption. The last of the introductions in this group of women, another mother, spoke up and, turning to the new grandmother, said “I know this all seems really bad to you, but I’m adopted and two of my kids are adopted.” There is Hope.

I can almost hear the sigh that must have escaped through the tears being held back. It wasn’t a delusional “everything will be fine, so stop crying and smile” kind of hope offered. It was real and true! Bad things happen every day all over the world. Some of them have happened and will happen to you, some of them have happened and will happen to me. We live in a broken, screwed up, confusing world. We can have a Hope, though.

To close this out very poetically. We all have poop. Poop happens. To everyone. It’s not fun. Ever. Have you seen poop on white carpet? It’s awful. It’s nasty, but everyone has it (well, hopefully not on white carpet–I wish that on none of you. ever.)

It’s a part of life and, in its own weird way, in it’s realness, it bring us together. Poop brings us together. There, I said it. 

P.S. The stains came out! My friend, Spot Shot and steam cleaners are a magical (and security-deposit-saving) combination! I don’t normally use harsh chemicals, but this was war.

Leave a Reply

