What’s New This Week 10.2.13

“The days drag on, but the weeks fly by”. Is that a thing? Or did I just hear one person say it and make it a thing? Either way, it sounds like a pretty appropriate summation of life lately.

Now, now, don’t go feeling sorry for me (or tell me to be quiet–I might punch you…in love…no, it would just be a punch). We’ve just felt a bit like our world is still spinning since our move. Yes, it was six months ago, but I guess making the change back to East coast time threw us for more of a loop than we realized. I say that with a smile, but it’s probably more of a panicked, self-assuring grin than what I think of when I think of a smile. We’re happy knowing that we are where we feel we should be, but some days (ok, alot of days) I feel like I’m balancing on a tiny little rock that offers just enough surface area to keep my nostrils above water.

So, ya. There’s my little brain vomit for you. Bleh. I’m good. I’m pretty happy. Potty training could be better, but she’s a really cute kid, so I just remind myself that “this too shall, one day, not happen any more”.

Here’s what I’ve gotten decently right this week. Just know that there’s been plenty of behind-the-scenes imbalance to balance everything out. Happy Wednesday, friends. 

Listening
 

Reading

  • Roots, Shoots, Buckets & Boots by Sharon Lovejoy. It’s one of the most successful blends of useful information and sheer cuteness I’ve seen in a long time. 

Learning

  • We’re testing the homeschooling waters this year. The focus is on unit studies–one for every letter of the alphabet. This week is the letter “G” and we’re studying G-G-Gardens! We chose our plot in the community garden, bought our seeds and are studying the life cycle of seeds and anything else a 4 year old is interested in falling under the general subject. Planting this weekend! Side note: Would anyone be interested in a link to the unit studies? I’m winging it, but happy to share!

Cooking

    • Gluten-free pancakes:
      • 1 egg
      • 1 cup gluten-free flour (we use the Namaste brand)
      • 3/4 cup milk
      • 1/2 tbsp honey
      • 2 tbsp applesauce
      • 3 tsp baking powder
      • 1/2 tsp salt
        • When we don’t have maple syrup, we whip up some fancy pants fruit spread (just fruit preserves and water)…delish!
    • Gluten-free blueberry muffins (lots of substitutions, but so worth it)
    • Sub sandwiches! It’s been so long since we’ve made these! I’m willing to cook gluten-free for my sweet husband, but there was no way in the world I was going to pay that much for two tiny sub rolls. Until last week. I found these guys at a local, amazing discount food store (still well within the range of their expiration date) for $.20 per each pack of two. I bought 10. Victory tastes like gluten-free sourdough, my friends. 
    • Gluten-free meatloaf:
      • 1-1.5 lb ground beef or turkey
      • 1/2 cup oatmeal
      • 1 cup chopped fresh spinach
      • 1 cup finely chopped carrots
      • 1/2 cup milk
      • 1 egg
      • 1/2 cup chopped onion
      • 1 clove garlic, finely chopped
      • 1/2 cup ketchup (spread on top of loaf) 
        • bake at 350 for 1hr to 1hr 15min
    • Apple Cinnamon Baked Oatmeal
    • Smoothies (right now our favorite is a mix of blueberries, bananas, pineapple and apple juice)
    • Tacos with plenty of pico de gallo and guacamole
    • Big ol’ salads (the “Italian Sisters’ Salad”)
    • Apple Crisp (except times 10)

Creating

  • I’ll be totally honest here. I’m not feeling very creative this week. Yesterday I colored in the illustrations on the “life cycle of a seed” worksheet for our lesson today. It wasn’t for creativity’s sake, though; we just don’t have a color printer. 

Doing

  • Menu planning and budgeting. I let this slip a little last month and I had to pray for forgiveness when I cleaned out the fridge last week. Eeek.

Enjoying

  • Cool mornings. Fall is coming! Fall for Florida, anyway. Anything below 75 is jacket weather for me! Wally and Adele (my Maine in-laws), if you’re reading this, don’t judge me, please.
P.S. I want to share my thankfulness with you. As a reminder to myself (and to you if you’ve forgotten), I’ll be taking our thankfulness journal from the notebook on the kitchen table to the interwebs. It will hopefully remind me (and you) that there is so much good to be really and truly blown away by. 
4 thoughts on “What’s New This Week 10.2.13

  1. Oh Mere, I love reading you posts 🙂 Plus it keeps us up to date on you Southerners 😉 And I’m not judging, but getting a good chuckle at needing a jacket for below 75 😉 Love you all!
    The Maine Cox Family!

  2. Hi Meredith, Thanks a zillion for mentioning my book Roots Shoots Buckets & Boots. I worked long and hard (and lovingly) on it and I appreciate your words of encouragement. PLEASE check out a copy of Toad Cottages & Shooting Stars. It has gardening, cooking, nature, art, music, everything to keep children learning, growing and happy. It is another Workman Publishing book and they really like project oriented books. I’ll keep reading your great postings. Thanks again,
    Oh, please my blog too. Sharon Lovejoy Writes from Sunflower House and a Little Green Island. All joys!

    • Thank YOU for writing such wonderful books! It was the highlight of our “G” is for “Garden” homeschool week. Looking forward to sharing the rest with our sweet kiddos!

Leave a Reply

